At the end of the first week in March of this year, I sat down at the computer and began to write.  I wanted to make a record of our experiences leading up to, during, and after the Canadian adoption agency we were using went bankrupt last year while two of our children were stranded in Ethiopia with only three days of food left.  That was a very emotional time and in the days and weeks that followed, time seemed to move at lightning speed, so I wanted to get down on the page what I could before the memories started to fade.

In the beginning, I was writing the story for Elijah and Sedaya, a record to them for the future of how far we were willing to go to save them, of the depth of our love for them.  When I had written most of the story, I began to realize that perhaps this was something that I could get published.  There were only two other books in the market specific to Ethiopian adoption and there were so many families eager for more reading.  I thought that I had completed the book in April, but when I thought about having it published, I quickly realized that I would need to include chapters about our time in Ethiopia, about what we experienced of our children’s birth country.  I have added three of those chapters so far with one or two more still to write.  Most of what is written is edited, thanks to my Auntie Judy and my friend Ruth.  I also plan to add an Epilogue.

With just three chapters left to write, I am close to the end of that process, but now have a deadline for when those need to be completed.  Three weeks from now, there may be publishers asking to see the complete manuscript.  I am both incredibly nervous and excited by this possibility.  It will be an enormous challenge to complete what is left of the book in just three weeks, especially given that one of our daughters is struggling with health issues that have consumed almost all of my spare hours the past three months.  However, I tend to work well under pressure so I am facing the opportunity to knock over this barrier and get the words on the page.  I am trusting that God will help me find the words and will create pockets of time for me.  I am counting on a few sleepless nights between now and three weeks for now, but am anxious to say that the book is complete.  I’ll let you know how things progress.

